Why I gave up reading

I used to enjoy library books
I read both day and night.
Then when I looked around me

I saw a horrid sight.

The house was filled with dust and dirt.
The sink was full of pots.
My hair was dirty and my face
Had broken out in spots.

So now I feel the need to clean
And polish all the brass.
I wash my hair  ‘most every night.
Oh,what a clever lass.

My husband likes my new approach
As he had felt ignored.
He toiled all day long  cooking books
and wished to be restored.

I wash him with my  best rose soap.
I dry him with my towel.
And then we have a discussion
On, whether Y’s a vowel.

We go to bed and kiss and hug.
We recall  bad times we  late endured.
And then we dream of pie and mash

Until our ills are cured.

About Kate4grace

I love writing and conversation,wild flowers,music and air
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.