What is the mind? I don’t know yet!

If you have time,try this link.It is full of sentences that give different aspects but seems to include both thought, feeling and judgment not to mention…I almost forgot,memory.

Mind ,Oxford Etymology

THINKING ABOUT WHAT THE MIND IS

I have not put this here because I know what the mind is.More that after my post yesterday and the ensuing exchange I had with ShimonZ  I realised I was not sure what the mind is.It’s certainly not all those silly thoughts we have as we run around the supermarket or brood on when feeling down in the dumps  [always a bad idea]

To me it’s what makes us an agent in our own life  as we can think and study our actions and our ideas [and is related to what was called Logos by the Greeks]. …but  I have a lot of studying and thinking to do,I feel it’s not me thinking but some faculty within me.I suppose that brings up the question of what is me or what am I.For example I have dreams but it’s not the conscious me that created them..they are nore clever and complex than I could think of I got a paragraph from Wikipedia

“Whatever its relation to the physical body it is generally agreed that mind is that which enables a being to have subjective awareness and intentionality towards their environment, to perceive and respond to stimuli with some kind of agency, and to have consciousness, including thinking and feeling.

Now I am going for a walk so I shall listen to what emerges

About Kate Thwaite

I love writing , conversation, art, wild flowers, music and air.And books
This entry was posted in Thinkings and poems and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.