Is it politically correct to use the adverb gaily to describe children playing?

I wrote  a little piece with “gaily” in it but am unsure if it offensive to some people.I know “gay”

means homosexual,but does gaily too?I am a genuine enquirer.I hate to lose a good word.

About Kate Thwaite

I love writing , conversation, art, wild flowers, music and air.And books
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Is it politically correct to use the adverb gaily to describe children playing?

  1. “Gaily” is a perfectly good word. Overly sensitive politically correct folks can just suck it.

    Like

  2. MaryR says:

    Thank you,Mark.I only want to offend people if I mean to,not by accident,if you see what I mean,,

    Like

Comments are closed.