Where is the world’s skin?

Image

I run my fingers tentatively

down your cheek,

 

asking you a question

 

with my eyes.

 

looking at each other,

 

you touch me too.

 

This is my skin

 

my boundary.

 

Yours is thicker,

 

like rubber.

 

I run my fingers down your chin.

 

what is this little bone?

 

I like it.

 

I like your skin

 

I like your bones.

 

I like you.

 

you please me.

 

you are tasty.

 

I like your taste,

 

your skin,your eyelids.

 

I like your eye here,

 

and your other eye too.

 

Nice one!

 

I like this hair on your head.

 

May I touch your hair?

 

do you like hair?

 

hair makes me laugh.

 

I have a fondness for laughing.

 

I love to laugh.

 

I enjoy laughter

 

I love your laughter.

 

If not, smiling is good also.

 

Or a gleam in the eyes,

 

showing the inside smile,

 

the smiling heart.

 

I like your inside,

 

Outside

 

and possibly

 

your backside.

 

your upside and downside.

 

your side sides.

 

I snuggle you all around with soft wool.

 

I knit you into my scarf.

 

I’ll have to wear you round my neck now!

 

How unusual

 

How flexible.

 

How charming.

 

How alarming

 

How creative

 

How interesting.

 

What an idea!

 

what a notion

 

but you are too big for me to knit

 

So I’ll just touch your hand

 

with my fingers.

 

and you touch my hand

 

with your fingers.

 

What good hands we have

 

with such fingers.

 

fingers are for touch.

 

fingers are keen to touch.

 

I like touch.

 

what would we do

 

without fingers?

 

I like your skin.

 

skin is good

 

We love skin

 

We love.

 

We.

 

I want skin to be ours

 

and yours

 

is mine

 

and mine

 

is yours

 

where is the edge of the world?

 

skin has no end

 

it’s infinity

 

au naturel.

 

what order!

 

what design!

 

What wonder.

 

what awe.

 

where is the world’s skin?

 

tenderly we touch the world

 

as the world embraces us.

 

It’s called love.

Love

About Katherine

I like poetry and history
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments and criticism welcome

