Your absence has so distanced us in grief.

Image

I try to feel through dark and distant space
To where you dwell in a so called “heavenly” place.
And you are far from those of us, who care.
Our hearts are dulled with loving thoughts not shared
Your absence has so distanced us in grief.
We can neither share our loss, nor gain relief.
I stare into the star filled sky at night
And see a space almost devoid of light.
I feel into the edges of my soul
I sense,somewhere, a partially dismembered whole.
Would new technology be able to aid my view,
As I search everywhere for some tiny trace of you?
How can someone vanish suddenly in the night,
And never ,from then on, be in my sight?
I wish that I’d been there when you went off,
Then I could have expressed ,in touch,my heartfelt love.
Shall I never hear again your gleaming tenor voice
Enchanting me once more with your intriguing choice?
Shall I not even find the laces from your shoes,
Floating gently back to earth through these  elm trees?
I see more flocks of gracious geese flash by.
Are those your fingers tracing lines across the sky?
Do you too see these geese from up above?
But you’re on the other side, too far from love.
And even with the very new best technology
There’s no way back now , so you won’t ever be
With us again,Goodbye,Goodbye Goodbye
I’ll turn away my tear filled green- blue eyes,
And look at all that’s near,as I’m still here.
I know now you’re too far away ,too far away, too far away ,my dear.
I know now that you’re too far away,my dear.
How can we learn to live with love, not fear,
As we go on ,now, down these coming years?
So sad that you’re not near,not here,not here,my dear.
Shall I sometimes, in the night pretend, you’re there,
Oh,that heaven were not  so agonisingly too ,too far?
As we slide down the escape chute of the years,
Like children clutching at our teddy bears.

About Katherine

I like poetry and history, literature and music.
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Your absence has so distanced us in grief.

  1. Katherine says:

    Thank you very much,Rommel,for your kind comment.I see you have travelled widely…it’s good to do it if you can whilst you are young enough.

    Like

  2. rommel says:

    Ouch! I am somewhat like the person you are referring to here. Although, I don’t completely abandoned m love ones and family. I checked in a weekly basis. I’ve been independent for a long time now, and have always gone in and out different places so …..
    Beautiful, beautiful writing. When your reader grips to the emotion of the words, that when you know how good the piece is. I certainly felt the sense of lost and longing in the poem. Great stuff!

    Like

Comments and useful criticism highly valued

