So good to miss,so hard not to kiss

Mileage Out of Bicycle Parts

Mileage Out of Bicycle Parts (Photo credit: cobalt123)

Carl Jung

Carl Jung (Photo credit: Psychology Pictures)

Loneliness doesn't come from having no one aro...

Loneliness doesn’t come from having no one around you, but from being unable to communicate the things that are important to you. -Carl Jung (Photo credit: deeplifequotes)

Image

Since you went away

I miss your tenderness

I miss your affection

I miss your music

I miss your humor

I miss your voice

I miss your hands

I miss your bony shape

But

I don’t have to hear how the shadow side of your literary persona is feeling…. usually terrible

I don’t even have to know you are not your literary persona.

Was it all that literary?

More pretentious

By the way,it was Jung who invented the term persona for a front we put on

I don’t have to hear your view on a topic I know more about than you but you hate to admit it

I don’t have to pretend to be less intelligent than you

I don’t have to tolerate your sulking for days

I don’t have to spend my money on books you think I should read… especially on politics

I don’t have to worry if my art is better or worse than yours

I don’t have to tolerate your extreme rigidity…it’s hard sleeping with a board!

And a beard!

I hate most of your favorite foods

I don’t have to act like a mother to you… a good mother,that is

I  like the space you have left.

Sometimes we really do need more space.

I don’t have to wear a pretty but chilly  nightgown

I can read all night and play with the cat

I can go out with the man whom I met in the museum of modern art

I can drink all the tea in the pot

I

About Katherine

I like poetry and history
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments and criticism welcome

