too sensitive

the human picture

I once had a girlfriend
more sensitive than me
whom I loved with all my heart
I still ache when indulging
in her memory

and she questioned me once,
an aside in a conversation
if I could empathize with another’s
reason-less ache of trepidation

I smiled at her
most impatiently…
asked her if it was a test
or just for her ever-growing information
teased her about it, when not at my best
knowing it was she, who held her breath
in the certainty of her annihilation

and afterwards…
when a friend or a lover
would step on my toes
in the intimacy of our common fate
I’d give thanks to my creator
that it was I who felt the blows
and not the other who bore the weight.

View original post

About Katherine

I like poetry and history, literature and music.
This entry was posted in thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments and useful criticism highly valued

