CONSIDER

Very peaceful poem

Simon Marsh

candle-in-the-darknessFOR YEARS I’VE RETURNED, at some time in the course of cold and windy Advent evenings, to the same poem. I’m not usually expecting the remembrance. It’s something that just turns up, sometime, every year. William Stafford’s “inviting the quiet by turning the face” moves something in me deeply – over the beckoning hue and cry of the “last opportunity” cash registers. I’m waiting, the world – the whole world – is waiting for something to “touch us too from that other place.”

Listening

My father could hear a little animal step,
or a moth in the dark against the screen,
and every far sound called the listening out
into places where the rest of us had never been.

More spoke to him from the soft wild night
than came to our porch for us on the wind;
we would watch him look up and his face go keen

View original post 51 more words

About Katherine

I like poetry and history.I love literature and music.I love Leonard Cohen
This entry was posted in thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments and useful criticism highly valued

