I have a calling to follow

I think my vocation is sacred.
I keep seeing visions of God.
He’s like a bright light
Exceedingly right
Does anything seem to be odd?

I have a calling to follow
I just do not know the details
I pray and I wait.
By yonder lychgate
Do vocations ever get into the Sales?

I would like it if I could buy one
I’ll give you all the money I’ve saved
Sell my idea?
My dear,no fear!
Just consider how well I’ve behaved.

Everyone has a vocation
To be who they know that they are.
Yet I am not me
Without you to be
Here in my arms by the fire.

I’ll get an answer tomorrow
As I dream of God during the night
She will give me an image
And the much needed courage
To go on till I see the Light.

The problem is one of translation,
For God speaks in symbols not words
Symbols are wells
in which truth dwells.
And the Spirit swoops down like a bird.

Why not find your vocation?
It’s possible whatever your age.
Attend to your dreams
and how your life seems
Vocations are now all the rage

 

About Katherine

I like poetry and history.I love literature and music.I love Leonard Cohen
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I have a calling to follow

  1. WordsFallFromMyEyes says:

    Love this. Very motivating. I was retrenched August last year and started having dreams of going to university, following my own dreams, but alas of course I need to look after my beloved son. And I’m in an office. 😦

    I found this inspiring though. It reminds me that life isn’t over. I still have a chance.

    Like

Comments and useful criticism highly valued

