Snails

When I was only three years,two months old
I saw some snails sip water on a path.
They seemed to me both shy and also bold.
So in delight I gave a joyful laugh.

We loved the flowers along the promenade,,
Whose colours sweet and bright bestowed dear love.
The railings made a playground with their bars.
And all I recall now is sun above.

A little island in an artificial lake
Was also a new playground we adored.
Into my virgin eye the pleasures I would take
To multiply them each by half a score.

Though emptiness and innocence are free
Which adult can allow such states to be?

About Katherine

I like poetry and history
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments and criticism welcome

