Like a leaf

  • maple-in-colour-2

    I feel my soul is trembling like a leaf
    that clings on in the worst of a fierce gale
    yet will drop into black mud far beneath
    though briefly through some sunshine it may fall.
    I am as nothing trodden into earth
    And lower than the lowest living beast,
    I make no estimation of my worth
    and for the worms I shall provide a feast.
    At first I thought that I could ride the storm
    That I could live without your circling arm
    But truth has taken hold of me entire.
    The choice is death by mud or death by fire.
    I see I am now trampled with earth’s dust
    No more to be an object of mere lust

About Katherine

I like poetry and history.I love literature and music.
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Like a leaf

  1. KatherineB says:

    Thank you so much,Janet.The tree is here in our garden.I seem to write a lot about turning into dust and I think it has a mystical meaning which artists experience that before getting filled with insspiration the artist has to let go of their ego and plunge into darkness.:)xx

    Like

  2. I love this poem and the image:) Wishing you a beautiful weekend.x

    Like

Comments and useful criticism highly valued

