Loss

As a child I loved my father dear

And went with him on walks into the park.

I felt great love and not a mite of fear

.His presence helped me in the night so dark

I never understood that he was ill

As little children do not think to ask.

and though he moaned and asked the nurse for pills

I did not know he faced his life’s last task

And so one morning we are told he’s fled.

He’s gone to heaven where he’ll feel no pain.

In solemn voice, the priests bless him now dead

I know I must be wicked and to blame.

Please let little children talk and grieve

When parents are blown down like autumn leaves

 

About Kate Thwaite

I love writing , conversation, art, wild flowers, music and air.And books
This entry was posted in thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Loss

  1. Welcome to my blog sawwri.Yes,we never forget them but we have to live as best we can here,sorry you had to undergo the trauma too.

    Like

  2. sawwri says:

    I went through the same so I understand every word…I pray for his soul to rest in peace and so My dad too ❤

    Like

Comments and criticism welcome

