The accident in the garden

 Snowdrops

Snowdrops

Earthworms
Earthworms

My sudden downfall

I went out to fill the birdbath

I slipped on some muck on the path.

I fell backwards so fast

I flew through my past.

And lay twisted between anguish and wrath.

I had a new phone in my bra.

Is that not what bras are made for?

But the handset had a fault,

So I cried “come here,Walt”

Though my husband is, in fact, called Rob Roy!

My left leg was twisted beneath,

I lay soaking wet by the trees.

I was alone in the house,

As my dear spouse

Was at the doc’s with his wheeze.

I managed to get onto my feet.

I guess I looked very downbeat.

I got into our home,

My bum covered with loam.

I felt  definitely unneat.

Now I’m in fairly bad pain.

I can’t go outside there again.

Still it could have been worse,

As i said to the nurse.

It’s these earthworms that should take the blame.

I found sleeping last night was not easy.

The delayed shock made me feel queasy.

So I was reading Sylvia Plath,

Instead of having a bath.

That made me feel even more cheesey.

Oh,I wish I’d not gone outside.

I could have lain there all night ,and then died.

But my husband came home

And he cursed my new phone,

Then he ate up all the cat’s food deep fried.

About Katherine

I like poetry, literature and music.And conversation
This entry was posted in thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

