Idiomatic ideas

As I waited for the bus I thought of some phrases that are in common use to describe our feelings in a manner relating to our bodies or our organs .

My heart was in my mouth
My heart sank
I fell head over heels in love.
I could not swallow his excuse.
That is hard to digest.
I spat him out.

I was wondering if new phrases like that come into existence now and I don’t recall any.Is it because we are no longer so involved in creating out language or because there are experts in academia who study it.At one time ordinary people made buildings etc and m ust have developed skills in geometry etc from a practical point of view.And it was they who invented writing and numbers etc not people in Universities who do not create but analayse and criticise and study signs and connections.
So has the rise of experts made us stupider than people were in the past?Is it poets who invent new idioms?

My eyes nearly leaped out of my head when he passed by…
Luckily I had put superglue down the sides of them at breakfast time.
My hands grasped the nettle and I almost threw a flower at his head.Then he said
You are the hoover of my soul.
Walls have fears,you know.

About Katherine

I like poetry and history
This entry was posted in thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments and criticism welcome

