With this sonnet

With this poem I thee  truly read

With all my skilful blight I thee endow

I know not what your other lovers said

But will they lend you horses or a cow?

Without a handshake ,we are very nearly dead

With all my mercies, joy,I thee endow.

I know not what the judging angels said

But we will get to heaven, some other how.

With this promise, I thee  truly take

To be my lawful and unlawful mate.

And after all, it’s for thy  kitty’s sake

I consent to eat my dinner from your plate.

For prayers and vows confused  have made me wild

But soon God’s mercy makes all  lovers mild

About Katherine

I like poetry and history
This entry was posted in thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to With this sonnet

Comments and criticism welcome

