A new thought about villanelles

The article I posted this morning points out that because of the repition o two of the lines a villanelle is especially suited to write about something that is bothering us a great deall.Dylan Thomas wrote “Do not go gentle into that goodnight”   when he learned hius father was dying.But his father did not know.
Because of the importance of the repetition they recommend writing the last two lines  before you write the body of the poem.So that is what I did with “I can’t believe,I wown’t believe you’re dead.” I think it is a very wise idea
Because of the strength of  repetition it would be suitable for writing about an unhappy love affair as well as death.Or maybe about breaking up with someone.

71ukmb5yzispw_l

Do not destroy the  joy of  all we  had
If you need space then take it and be glad.

I just wrote that but I don’t know if I can write a whole villanelle.
Well I managed it but I may want to edit it some more.And it does seem suited to strong feelings.Otherwise it’s   just an intellectual jigsaw puzzle as my friend said

DO NOT DESTROY

Do not destroy the  joy of  all we  had
The good need  not be lost when lovers part.
If you need space then take it and be glad.

Because I love you, I shall  now be  sad
But there’s no need to  stab me in  the heart
Do not destroy the  joy of  all we  had.

With your loving words I once was clad
Now naked to the winds, I must  depart
If you need space then take it and be glad.

The only constant love is that of God
No Eros is He with his arrowed darts
Do not destroy the  joy of  all we  had.

On these forlorn, faint tracks I have  once trod
In my mind I search for   ragged  charts
If you need space then take it and be glad.

I have my maps and now am fully clad.
With tenderness,farewell my dearest heart.
Do not destroy the  joy of  all we  had.
If you need space then take it and be glad.

 

 

 

About Katherine

I like poetry and history.I love literature and music.
This entry was posted in love song, poetry, Thinkings and poems, villanelle. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments and useful criticism highly valued

