Democracy can fall.

When first I came to London town
They said I did not fit
My accent was too foreign
And I had no English wit.

My ancestors were Viking folk
Celts and Saxons too
And  possibly I’m Roman
And possibly  you  are too.

Why the wish to classify
To control and to divide?
A lot of insecurity
A handful of false pride.

If England is divided
We need an enemy
.Who shall be the enemy?
Is it either you or me?

Democracy can break and bend
Democracy can fall.
Perhaps we were all misled
By the Berlin fall.

Hidden in defences now
We cannot see too well.
We see the shadows flickering
The cave’s  a prison cell.

Blinded by  anxiety
By insecurity
Let’s take off  our eye masks now
To see what we should see.

About Kate Thwaite

I love writing , conversation, art, wild flowers, music and air.And books
This entry was posted in Thinkings and poems. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Democracy can fall.

  1. silverliz says:

    I enjoyed this poem so much. I hope England is kinder to you now.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Kate4grace says:

      I still feel like a foreigner and I have found foreigners here in London are very kind to me.I had not thought about it but I do feel alien here yet after 40 plus years don’t wish to leave.

      Like

Comments are closed.