A friendship is not bought in pounds and pence.

If kind to you, I’m cruel to me, myself
For my true nature’s not perceived by you
My health’s  not sickness, sickness is not health

You, a hunter seeking prey by stealth
Are snatching  private feelings to your view
If kind to you,  it’s cruel to me, myself

A true friend in mutuality found wealth.
And this  like a green plant is silence grew
My health’s not  sickness, sickness is not health

 

If you demand  my kindness, get you hence
I’d rather be alone then torn anew.
If kind to you,  it’s cruel to me, myself

 

A friendship is not bought in pounds and pence.
Is not invasive, leaves a hint or clue.
My health’s no sickness, sickness is not health

Once love was a bluebird now it’s flu.
Long gone are the roses damp with dew.
If kind to you, I’m cruel to me, myself
My health’s  not sickness, sickness is not health

 

 

 

 

About Kate4grace

I love writing and conversation,wild flowers,music and air
This entry was posted in poetry, Thinkings and poems, villanelle. Bookmark the permalink.