I’ve lived twice as long as Jesus Christ.

I’m as old as grandad, older than his wife.
In the dark coal mine, he worked all night
I look down , dizzy at my longer life.

I’m Marvel, UHT, Carnation blyth.
While he worked the sun shone, rarely bright
I’m as old as grandad, older than his wife.

I’m packed and sterilised; I’m cut by knife.
I’m meat, corned beef,I’m ham tonight, alright?
I look down, I’m a sandwich made for life.

I’ve lived twice as long as Jesus Christ.
Holy Moses, what a strange insight!
I’m as old as grandad, older than his wife.

In the night, the images arrive.
His dog Lassie, who  rarely used to bark
I look round dizzy , wondering at this life

 

How I talked with Daddy in the park
How I  went with Grandad for a walk
As old as grandad, older than Dad’s wife.
I  stand up, grateful for my longer life.

About Katherine

I like poetry, literature and music.And conversation
This entry was posted in Thinkings and poems. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’ve lived twice as long as Jesus Christ.

  1. mikeoxon says:

    Yes, it’s strange to look back on earlier generations, who seemed so very old when we were young. I wonder if they felt, then, as we feel now, at similar or greater age?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Kate4grace says:

      I think my relatives were more lined and wrinkled.I am struck how much people like Keats had produced by 25 and Schubert died young.Nowadays people of that age are regarded as not grown up!It’s an interesting question,Mike.

      Like

What do you think?

