Saved by untidiness

EveningSkySome conmen walked into my home
And around it, they enjoyed a fine roam
Owing to my books on the bed
My clothes elsewhere spread
They stole just two mugs and a comb.

Actually, I have no jewellery or even a large TV set…. so unless they were intellectuals they would not have been impressed with the contents of the house.
Would they steal the Encarta English dictionary? Highly unlikely.The shorter Oxford?   The Cambridge  Companion to Sylvia Plath.Ted Hughes letters.[ not to me]
The best of Leonard Cohen? That might depress anyone even a thief!
My laptop is very old and I have only a relatively cheap radio.
Not what they hoped for.

About Katherine

I like poetry and history, literature and music.
This entry was posted in Thinkings and poems. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Saved by untidiness

  1. PoojaG says:

    My family are kind of neat freaks whereas on the other hand I am a pretty messy person especially when it comes to books- I have books lying everywhere! It annoys them to no end but I actually have a system and I know where everything is and it annoys me when someone cleans up my stuff. I’m pretty sure if we got robbed they wouldn’t get much except books

    Liked by 1 person

Comments and useful criticism highly valued

