I did not know I ran to see her face

I did not know I ran  in a long race
I only sought to find a starting place
I loved to run forever, ever chase

My motives were cut off but never base.
I wished to ease my mother’s frowning face
I did not know I ran  a startling race

I saw that nothing I did  quite could erase
Her sorrow, rage, the shame of all her days
I thought I’d run forever, ever chase

I tried to alter course in various ways
I took to drink yet made my grades all As
I did not know I ran  a pre- damned race

I took flute lessons; earned gargantuan praise
I  got a lover; lay with her all day
I thought I’d lie forever, never chaste

My mother said she had been well disgraced
Saw all  her daughters who had been misplaced
I did not know I ran  to see her face
I wished to learn  but  did not want to race

About Kate Thwaite

I love writing , conversation, art, wild flowers, music and air.And books
This entry was posted in Thinkings and poems. Bookmark the permalink.