Off the villanelle

I must get off the villanelle today
There are other forms that I might like
Then I can eat and read and love and pray

I could make a sculpture like a Klee.
Get new tyres upon my folding bike
I must get off the villanelle today

 

The thing is, writing rarely pays.
Ted Hughes  did it with his dream of Pike
Then he could eat and read and love and pray

Once upon a time my world was gay
Leisure was a  pleasure, heart was light
I may get off the villanelle today.

Sometimes I feel like just one shade of grey
The heart is numb and all is tinged with blight
Can I eat and read and love and pray.

Life is generous with its dose of fright.
The politicians’  tigers fight and bite
I must  write off the villanelle today
Then I can eat and read and love and play

About Kate Thwaite

I love writing , conversation, art, wild flowers, music and air.And books
This entry was posted in Thinkings and poems. Bookmark the permalink.