When he woke up he looked the same

He was always very adamant
He could not change his mind
So I soaked his head in old red wine
Because I am so kind.

 

When he woke up he looked the same
But he spoke so tenderly:
You may have tricked some other guys.
But you ain’t trickin’ me.

 

I said I knew  no other men;
He was my heart’s desire.
He threw his water glass at me
And said I was a liar.

 

So then I realised with dread,
My love was utter folly.
I gave him 20 English pounds
To buy himself a lolly.

 

Adamantine’s good for jewels
But not for picking men.
I shall learn my lesson now.
Pray I’ll never sin again

About Kate Thwaite

I love writing , conversation, art, wild flowers, music and air.And books
This entry was posted in Thinkings and poems. Bookmark the permalink.