No arms surround me now but those of God

The eager sunshine gave a brilliant start
A little spur to those who lie in bed
But now the day is growing fierce and dark.

My dreams crowd on the boundaries of my heart
I half remember confusion and hot dread
The surprising sunshine gave a better start

I thought I had not slept much of the night
Yet images of colleagues filled my head
And now the day is growing fierce and dark.

Why was Jesus called a living Light?
The metaphor, electric, confused hell
The fiery sunshine gave a  fearsome start.

In strong sunlight, patterns seem so stark.
Nature’s shapes and metrics better read.
I see my own shape matched up in part.

I  lie alone where once I was well wed.
No arms surround me now but those of God
The gift of sunshine made the angels start.
But now the devil hurls a savage spark.

 

 

About Kate Thwaite

I love writing , conversation, art, wild flowers, music and air.And books
This entry was posted in Thinkings and poems, villanelle. Bookmark the permalink.