The plastic ones are all we now can take

Photo0028

I went into the best cafe in town
And when therein I let myself sit down.
I ordered a large and precious drink
Made from coffee and elastic  ink.

I sipped and gazed at all the gadding crowd
Speaking  tongues  like angels well endowed
Clutching phablets showing films and fun
They walk into the lamp posts now and then.

I  gave the waitress  my  last £5 note
On which some ancient wording was once wrote
She threw it down and said, it’s out of date
The plastic ones are all we now can take

I had only a bus pass in my purse
Now I’m in jail and writing worser verse.

 

PS the errors in grammar are deliberate!

About Kate Thwaite

I love writing , conversation, art, wild flowers, music and air.And books
This entry was posted in Thinkings and poems. Bookmark the permalink.