Thou serpent

DSC00058


Shall I compare a  kitchen knife to thee?
Thy cut is sharper than best Viner’s steel
Thy tongue is longer than  the roots of  trees
Thou serpent,  get thee to my heel.

Thy cold remarks, thou preferst thy cat to me
And I gave thee tender love both day and night
A fool , an idiot would love  better than thee
So get thee hence, be distant from my sight.

Boastful of thy organ’s latent  powers
Thou wished to found a noble dynasty
Aladdin’s lamp, when rubbed, did glow for hours
The same cannot be said, alas, of thee!

A stronger  man would  be less arrogant
Those who do beat those who find they can’t

About Kate Thwaite

I love writing , conversation, art, wild flowers, music and air.And books
This entry was posted in Thinkings and poems. Bookmark the permalink.