Accepting that you’re gone.

Photo0335 2

To look upon your countenance is what I  most desire

To sit with you and hold your hand by this red winter fire

But you are  now so far away,I do not recognise
Those  smiling features dear  to me and your loving eyes.



You had a merry cheerful soul and loved all your friends

You may have loved your enemies,to wit I'll not descend.

I heard your voice one morning late,I heard you clear your throat.

I hastened down the stairs  and found your old brown winter coat.



I pulled the coat nearer than and felt salt tears  slip down

They ran across my face and dripped onto  your coat brown

The memories seem too few,my dear,though we had happy times.

And now I must be going so I'll finish off this  rhyme.



So  many years  a part of me,the hole with sorrow filled.

I'll sit and gaze at these bare trees until my heart is stilled

Goodbye,goodbye, goodbye my love, my dearest one.

I'll try to start my life again,accepting that you're gone.
About Katherine

I like poetry and history.I love literature and music.I love Leonard Cohen
This entry was posted in image, love song, reflections, rhyming verses, Thinkings and poems. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments and useful criticism highly valued

