How do you begin a poem? Six poets talk

photo0922

 

 

https://www.poets.org/poetsorg/text/how-do-you-begin-poem

Cate Marvin

“I like to think of poets as moving through the world with their minds poised like nets, intent on capturing scraps of language, resonant images. Thinking as a poet means viewing the world as a poem; thus, the poet is prone to existing in real space and time in a most vulnerable manner. This means being super-observant wherever your physical self takes your mind, as it requires being terribly receptive to light, images, movement, conversations between others, oddities many might be inclined to overlook in newspaper headlines, heatedly intimate conflicts overheard in public places, disingenuous directions offered by advertisements and street signs, etc.”

About Katherine

I like poetry and history, literature and music.
This entry was posted in Thinkings and poems. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How do you begin a poem? Six poets talk

  1. mikeoxon says:

    I suspect it should start from within – an experience or an idea that need to be expressed. As it develops, research and import of subsidiary ideas may be needed but they are not the start. A ‘professional’ poet may see things differently but ‘performing to order’ is unlikely to produce their best work.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Kate4grace says:

      I used to wait for inspiration.I think noww I notice more that will be a good start and also things people say to me or people I meet.It has made me more observant of different states of mind.If I were tryinjg to get money from my writing it would really inhibit me at first.So being professional is different.

      Like

What do you think?

