I offered him  a sandwich made by May

The old man standing by me in the bank
Fragile in the outfit of beige-grey,
Looked as if the News had made him sink

In this society, he has no rank
I asked him what he thought of polling day
This sweet man standing by me in the bank

He said that Corbyn was a fool and crank
Who must drop the  Atom Bomb  or pay
He looked as if the News had made him shrink

 

He sunk into the mud, I threw a plank
I offered him  a sandwich made by May
This dear man standing by me in the bank

 

As he walked away, he gave a wink
He may seek for a bomb with which to play
He looked as if the News drove him to drink.

I guess this country’s needs advice, so pray
For an alternative to Theresa May
I wish that old  man standing in the bank
Saw the News  as second to high jinx

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Kate Thwaite

I love writing , conversation, art, wild flowers, music and air.And books
This entry was posted in Thinkings and poems. Bookmark the permalink.