Violence and despair

My appetite for news has slunk away
See people throwing babies from the tower
The only action I  can take is prayer

On the ground,  where many flowers are laid
Relatives of the  victims  stand for hours
My appetite for news has slunk away

I saw the red plume rising in the air
The smoke and smell destroy the offered flower
The only action I  can take is prayer

The number of the dead increased today
Many  lie reduced to ash upstairs
My appetite for news has slunk away

Over London hangs a cloud of grey
No shades but sorrow, rage  shall flare
The only action I  can take is prayer

 

Oh, has the News shocked edgy Mrs May
We must hold both  violence and despair
My appetite for news has slunk away
The only way we can survive  is prayer

 

 

 

About Kate Thwaite

I love writing , conversation, art, wild flowers, music and air.And books
This entry was posted in Thinkings and poems. Bookmark the permalink.