If I did not write

If I did not write  I could clean house
Wash the curtains, hang them on the line
Polish my small table and my mouse
Make  a chocolate cat and drink more wine

If I did not write I could go shop
Buy elegance and  amber  with old pearls
Go to  a hairdresser, buy a frock
Write a poem in a cursive swirl

If I did not write then I might read
George Herbert and  the  metaphysicals again
The Guardian Review and that would lead
To  rambling perplexed down a dale in rain

Yes, writing  gives me happiness most times
Despite the loss of metre and slant  rhymes

About Kate Thwaite

I love writing , conversation, art, wild flowers, music and air.And books
This entry was posted in poetry, sonnet, Thinkings and poems. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to If I did not write

  1. mikeoxon says:

    I see you’ve slipped back a little, to “most times” The heat has dropped to a more sensible level here, so I hope it will help your writing. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. mikeoxon says:

    keep writing if it brings happiness divine 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Comments and criticism welcome

