I must be  of gigantic self-conceit

Since I became equipped for  sun and heat
I have two parasols and two white chairs
The rain plays on the walls in rhythmic beats

My wooden table  looks exactly right
I have a cat which likes to sleep on there
Since I became equipped for  sun and heat

I must be  of gigantic self-conceit
I assumed the Lord would answer prayers
The rain plays on the walls in rhythmic beats

And am I also guilty of deceit
To invite youths to step inside my lair?
Since  it is  equipped  for  sun and heat

In the end , our strivings bring defeat
We are  more like  leaves blown in the air
The rain plays on the walls in rhythmic beats

We must learn quite soon, life is not fair
And what is God that  he should even care?
Since I became equipped for  sun and heat
The rain plays on the walls in rhythmic beats

 

About Kate Thwaite

I love writing , conversation, art, wild flowers, music and air.And books
This entry was posted in Thinkings and poems. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments and criticism welcome

