In the kitchen with Stan

DSC00058

Stan had decided to do a some of baking.

The larder was empty
the cupboard was bare
he looked in the cake tin
but nut nothing was there.Sorry about that!
Stan had flour, eggs and sugar and of course milk and butter.Emile was under the table waiting for something to drip out of the bowl!He loved baking days.
Stan had bought a load of blackberries in the market so he was thinking of blackberry tarts, blackberry crumble.
He picked up the bag which seemed very heavy.Putting his hand in …..he pulled out a Blackberry!He went to the market
to buy me some fruit
and now he’s got Blackberries
he’s going to shoot!Annie his next door neighbour was coming to the back door.”What’s up , Petal?”

“Oh, dear.I seem to have made a category error.”Stan answered philosophically.”Well what category would you put me into?” she asked petulantly.
“Why are you so egocentric? Not everything is about you!”He said fluently.
“Well if I’m narcissistic it’s because my infant grandiosity was ruptured too suddenly and I was not held and contained in a suitable manner.”
“You’ve been reading that Wilfred Bion again.” Stan said admiringly.
”No , not just him.It’s some American chap as well.Would you like to read it?”
“No, thanks, I’m finding Julia Segal is more than enough for me.I find Bion is a bit too mystical.I don’t think I can approach you without memory or desire.To be honest, without memory or desire I wouldn’t want to approach you.”
“Wow, ” she said stupidly, her large green eyes staring avidly at him inviting him to fall into their salty sea like depths.
“Shall I ring 999?I can’t think of anything to say.I’m lost for words.”
“Perhaps you have reached that mystical spot beneath language mostly only known to babies, the mad, or meditators?
I do feel a bit mad today

“Is that why you have purple and orange eyeshadow on clashing with your alarazin crimson lipstick and your light beige, but not too light, foundation by Lancome of Brixton and Blackheath,Paris,Rome, and London?”
“I suppose so.” she replied indifferently.I feel as if I’m behind a glass wall.”
“Oh, don’t worry.That’s the new window!” Stan explained courteously.”You really are behind a glass wall.”
“You’ve been reading schizoid processes again on Yahoo,”
“Yes,” she admitted her face blushing violently.”It’s those new people who’ve moved in across the road.They are both psychoanalysts so I wanted to feel up to their level of knowledge.”
“I didn’t know they were psychoanalysts.How did you find out?”

“Well, first of all, there were two large sofas, and then hundreds of knitting needles and a lorryful of wool.And I thought, ”Hello,Hello,It must be one of Anna Freud‘s followers.”
“So have you met them?” he asked laconically?
“Yes”, she confessed animatedly.I went over and said,
“Sprechen Sie Deutsch?”
“And what did he say?”
“Are you all mad round here?”
“So I thought,”You’re not getting hold of me that easily.””
“ I said “I’m sorry to disappoint you but I’m am an admirer of Melanie Klein,”
“Oh, how did they react to that?”Stan quizzed her jovially.
“He was so rude.He said,”Are you telling me you’re a lesbian as well as a lunatic?”

“Oh, dear.No wonder your makeup is all running off your face and disappearing down your cleavage.Why don’t you pop upstairs and have a bath?”
“Well it’s either that or ringing 999“
“My self is totally divided.”

“Into equal parts?”
“I can’t say” she murmured.
”Oh,well” said Stan “you sit there with Emile and I shall make a Victoria sponge and a lemon drizzle cake without the lemon…I’ve only got bananas and they don’t drizzle.

“Why not adapt to reality and make a banana loaf?”
“Is that wise?” Stan inquired.
”Wise or not, it seems to make sense.” she whispered coyly.”Get a move on or Mary will be back on her Raleigh shopper bicycle and there’ll be no cake for tea.”Thank you, honey.”Stan replied.“I am filled with memory and desire.”
”And quite right too,”mioawed Emile from his basket.”I’m like that every night!””And so are all of us, ”Annie twittered on one of Stan’s blackberries.
Oh,yes.

About Katherine

I like poetry and history.I love literature and music.I love Leonard Cohen
This entry was posted in Thinkings and poems. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments and useful criticism highly valued

