Like sea and sandy shore

https://www.britannica.com/event/Synod-of-Whitby

 

127032-004-75BA0538

My blue mug’s striped like sea and sandy shore
I love my memories of expansive sands
The mug is round  so it can hold much more

The image of the mug opens a  door
To access spaces where my dreams command
My blue mug’s striped like sea and sandy shore

Stretched blueness  takes me to my deepest core
Where by my inner  heart I understand
The mug is rounded well and gives me more.

On the beach, the salt stuck to my pores
Like Whitby where  my spectacles were gummed
My blue mug’s striped like sea and sandy shore

 

The Synod  of historic Christian lore
Held at Whitby  where tall cliffs descend
Reminds us how the inter-faith’s  still sore.

And how my deepest thoughts are made disband
To submit to God and  that beloved hand
My blue mug’s striped like sea and sandy shore
The mug is holding memories that allure.

 

 

About Katherine

I like poetry and history.I love literature and music.I love Leonard Cohen
This entry was posted in Thinkings and poems. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Like sea and sandy shore

  1. mikeoxon says:

    “The mug is round so it can hold much more” … than? It depends! A round one uses the least amount of clay to enclose the volume but, if you want to carry a lot of mugs on a rectangular tray, then square mugs would use the available space better! I’m just being a difficult physicist 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Kate Thwaite says:

      It is not a sphere, it has a small circular top then widens out.Ir holds more than one might imagine on first glance and also the tea stays hot longer.I never carry a lot of mugs together.This is not a cafe 🙂

      Like

Comments and useful criticism highly valued

