Some things we understand too late

Photo0335 2

I don’t know if my older brothers were unusually cruel to me as I do know families contain both love and hate.They seemed cruel and were always doing nasty things like setting my hair on fire leaving a bald spot [ possibly a crime] or emptying the baby’s pot over my head.
But I learned recently from one that when they began school aged 5 and 4 they were being given help in learning to read and apparently I aged 3 had taught myself to read very quickly.So Ma used to shame them by pointing out my precocity.That seems to have been a foolish thing.They must have been angry I imagine.
I do think making comparisons is very bad for us and causes envy and jealousy.When I broke my leg around that time they offered to run a race with me.I was so thrilled they wanted me it took me a few minutes to understand their little game.Children can  be crueler than adults.
After my husband thoughful;y ascended into heaven, one of them said: it’s going to take you a few weeks to get over this.Still, the housework will keep you going.Housework!! Yahhh.

About Katherine

I like poetry and history.I love literature and music.
This entry was posted in Thinkings and poems. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments and useful criticism highly valued

