Channeling emotions

Photo0009

https://www.nwp.org/cs/public/print/resource/402

https://www.nwp.org/cs/public/print/resource/402

 

Excerpt

Techniques Used in PoetryRefer to

a) “Any Morning” by William Stafford (Nye, 132)
b) “Eating Together” by Li-Young Lee (Dunning et al., 14)
c) “I Ask My Mother to Sing” by Li-Young Lee (Dunning et al., 106)
d) “Emergency Situation” by Hal Sirowitz (Nye, 12)
e) “Forgive My Guilt” by Robert P. Tristram Coffin (Dunning et al., 101)
f) “My Father in the Stacks” by David Hassler (Nye, 7)
g) “Sooner or Later” by Sam Cornish (Dunning et al., 115)

  1. Focus on one specific situation:
    1. a) lying on the couch in the morning
      b) eating dinner
      c) mother and grandmother singing of memories
      d) mother telling son to wear decent underwear
      e) shooting two birds in the wings
      g) a first funeral

    2. Or contrast two specific situations:

    f) child in father’s study; adult in library meeting father

     

  2. Create images in the reader’s mind. Help the reader picture what’s going on. Examples:

    a) “Just lying on the couch and being happy./Only humming a little”
    b) “brothers, sister, my mother who will taste the sweetest meat of the head”
    c) “the waterlilies fill with rain until/they overturn/spilling water into water”
    d) “I dressed you up/as a girl. You were gorgeous. You had curls”
    e) “they ran with broken wings/Into the sea, I ran to fetch them in”
    f) “I’ve grown tall like my father/wandering dark hours of the afternoon/in fields of print, rustling pages”
    g) “Your hands are still in your pockets”

  3. Use original language, perhaps similes and metaphors. Examples:

    a) “Little corners like this, pieces of Heaven/left lying around”
    b) “to sleep like a snow-covered road/winding through pines older than him”
    c) “sing like young girls” and “sway like a boat”
    e) “on golden legs slim as dream things” and “ran like quicksilver”
    f) “in fields of print” and “unwritten lives”

  4. Choose words for their impact, connotation, and sound. Use harsh sounding words for negative impact. Examples:

    a) trouble,” “judge,” “monitor,” “act busy,” “hide,” “frown”
    c) “picknickers running away in the grass,” “I love to hear it sung”
    d) “caught,” “reflection on me,” “bad,” “break,” “poor,” “embarrass me”
    e) “with jagged ivory bones where wings should be,” “two airy things forever denied the air!”
    f) “his bookshelves/dwarfed me,” “wandering,” “silence,” “pass each other”

  5. A strong image can be repeated effectively, sometimes to end the poem.

    e) “They cried like two sorrowful flutes” and “Those slender flutes of sorrow never cease”
    f) “Sometimes he’d pass me a book/if my hands were clean” and “We pass each other, my hands are clean”

 

About Katherine

I like poetry and history
This entry was posted in Thinkings and poems. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments and criticism welcome

